My First Week as Denise – Or, Joining the Girls Club

March 25, 2017 — Leave a comment

Happy weekend my bitches, we made it! And, I’ve made it one full week as Denise. In some aspects, it has been rather mundane as the week has been no different from any other week. I’ve gone to work as usual, been presented with the same problems as usual, and dealt with my usual meetings and tasks. The only difference has been my presentation and even that has been rather mundane. And, as I mentioned earlier this week, that is a very good thing!

My co-workers have been extremely accommodating and accepting. From the moment I walked in last Monday, I’ve been greeted with “Morning D”, or “Hi Denise”. And that extends to my team. Questions, emails, and the like have all been prefaced with D or Denise. All in all, a very good week. Everyone has accepted my for me: Denise.

As far as joining the “girls club”, that has been the more fun and exciting changes this week. And that seems to be where I’m accepted most: among my female co-workers.

Some friends on the call center support team are some of the most ardent advocates of Denise. I have to walk past their work area to get to my cube so they are the first to greet me each day. And they have been very supportive and eager to meet Denise from the beginning. And each day I get “love your outfit” (which by the way, the header picture is from Thursday’s outfit) or other comments from them. I can’t begin to express my gratitude to them.

Then there’s the whole bathroom issue. It’s not that I’ve been nervous or anxious. I’ve been using women’s rooms for several months now. But that has typically been with strangers. It’s been around people who have never know my male persona. At work it is a bit different because they DO (or did) know me in my former presentation. And would anyone be uncomfortable when we were in the lady’s room together?

That was dispelled quite quickly the first day. During my first visit to the lady’s room as I was washing up one of my female co-workers walks out of the stall and greets me with “Morning Denise, Happy Monday!” We chatted a bit then went back to our cubes. Later, the receptionist and I passed as I was entering the ladies room and she was leaving. We then proceed to chat in the doorway for several minutes.

By the end of the week it seems like my presence in their was more than just tolerated. I was expected, and accepted. I was just another girl who’s “just gotta pee”.

And the best anecdotal evidence that I’ve been accepted to the girls club came Friday. Twice early in the day I had come out of the stall with my friend Lisa from support. As usual we chatted a bit and moved on. However, at the end of the day we ran into each other for the third time. As we were washing up Lisa looks over at me and says “well, I guess we’ve synched up our schedules now!” I laughed and looked back at her and replied “Well, if something else gets synched up, then you should be worried!”

She cracked a big smile, laughed, and replied back “No way girl! Our team has already synched up like that. We don’t need anyone else in that club with us!” So yes, I feel I’ve arrived, and I’m just one of the girls now. I am loving my life and very happy. Let’s see what next week brings!

For now, have a great weekend my bitches!

Ciao,
denise

No Comments

Be the first to start the conversation!

Leave a Reply

