A New Year, A New Me

January 4, 2016 — Leave a comment

First off, let me apologize for the lack of posts over the last few months as life got in the way significantly. But, that’s what a New Year is about, starting afresh. And, mine started off rather positively!

I stopped at a big box retailer to get some items for the kittens (yes, I got kittens about 6 weeks ago) and on my way to the register I passed the women’s section of the department store. There were some lovely sweater dresses and I’ve needed something that actually fits and flatters my body. I found one at a reasonable price and figured if it didn’t work out I could always return it. I picked out a pretty, and elegant, charcoal grey, cable knit sweater dress. It was just calling my name! Oh, and I also found a little clutch to go with it. After all, it doesn’t make sense to go out in a cute, sexy dress and carry a man-wallet.

It fit well and once I added my control top pantyhose and Spanx tummy flattener it looked amazing! And that’s where things took a turn. I was getting hungry and needed to get something to eat but since I had spent a bit of effort getting everything on I didn’t want to take it all off and redress. So I decided to go out. Yikes!

I did my makeup and nails, transferred my license, credit card and some cash to the clutch and took off to my favorite restaurant for a margarita and maybe a little food. When I arrived the place looked a little empty much to my relief because I wasn’t sure I could handle a big crowd. But when I pulled up, I noticed the bar had several people sitting at it and I freaked out. So I backed out and drove around the shopping center, pulled into an empty parking space to calm myself down. While there I checked my hair and make-up, took a few deep breaths then headed back to the restaurant. As I pulled up I still saw several people at the bar but I also noticed my favorite waitress “J” which helped calm me. Since the place was nearly empty I decided I’d take a booth and hope that the “J” would help ease my nervousness.

The butterflies in my stomach were on overdrive as I swayed into the restaurant. J was in her usual “Welcome, how many are there tonight” greeting when she recognized me and her face lit up. “Oh, welcome back, you look amazing!” That really helped a lot. She asked if I was going to sit at the bar but I told her maybe a booth tonight as there were others already sitting there and I was nervous.

J handed me the menu and took my drink order then went back to the hostess stand. As I was taking my bite of the chips and salsa, one of the waiters I know well “A” came over to check on me and as he approached, recognized me and said “Happy New Year, amigo, how you doing? I almost didn’t recognize you. You look great!”. I was totally surprised at this but felt the nervousness ease even more. And the night kept getting better. The bartender, “C” brought my margarita and sat down across from me. “Feliz años nuevo amigo, como esta? Why aren’t you sitting at the bar tonight?” I explained my nervousness about the others at the bar but he told me nonsense, come on up.

So I moved to the bar, sipping on my margarita, lightly munching on the chips and salsa while waiting on my food. That’s when the night reached its peak. J and the owner’s granddaughter came over and sat in the chair next to me and the little girl reached up and said “I like how you did your hair tonight”. I was floored. I expected “Are you a boy, or a girl?” I expected confusion. But she seemed totally at ease. It was amazing! I felt pretty! I felt sexy! I felt accepted!

But the night didn’t end there. I closed down the place and was about to head home when I realized I still needed to get some items from the market. So I changed course and did some shopping for my weekly meals. I grabbed a cart, put my clutch in the basket and took off. I didn’t seem to get any unusual stares but I wasn’t paying attention. I was being in the moment, just being some woman out shopping. After making my way through produce I stopped at the deli counter. Since it was late I wasn’t sure they were still open so I asked the attendant. Her response helped boost my attitude: “I’m sorry ma’am, the deli closed 5 minutes ago, we’ve already started cleaning the equipment”. Wait, she called me ma’am? How exciting!

I slowed my walk a bit as I pushed the cart through the store, getting sassier as I shopped, swaying my hips a bit more. Several other employees also greeted me with ma’am after asking questions, and I even got several polite good evening’s from other shoppers. What a totally positive experience!

The only thing that marred the night was when I got home. As I was carry the bags from the car I felt something weird with one of my pumps. My first thought was that I had broken the tip off the heel. I unloaded the groceries and went to the bedroom to get a better look at it. That’s when I realized the heel had actually broken about an inch up. It was still wrapped in the leather but instead of pointing straight down it was bent forward at about a 30 degree angle. I tried to see if I could straighten it but it had also pulled the sole away from the heel. So time for some new shoes. Lucky me!

No Comments

Be the first to start the conversation!

Leave a Reply

