Target and Gender Bias

August 13, 2015 — Leave a comment

Hello my lovelies, so sorry that I haven’t written in awhile. My world has gotten just a tad busy. (That’s not to say that I’m not still working my “girlish figure” and experimenting daily, I just haven’t had much time to write). But, this week’s news regarding Target and their decision to remove gender labeling in the toy aisles has had me perplexed. Not because of Target’s decision, but more the outcry from it.
LegoStarWars

My Facebook page feed has been a mixed bag of those showing support for the decision, and those adamantly against it. One friend posted “Not shopping at Target anymore, God made men and women. We’re different, so why do we need to change that”?

Hmmm, I’m perplexed. In my opinion that’s a non sequitur. So, God made men and women. If that’s what you believe fine. But, and this is big folks, men and women made the toys. And, again this is a big point folks, as the consumer YOU have the choice what to buy or not buy for your children. If your daughter wants the Meccano (r) Lego set will you tell her “No, that’s for boys”? Or is she wants the Star Wars (r) set will you say “Let’s find Princess Leia” Maybe your son wants the Lego Super Friends(r) set with Wonder Woman. Will you turn him down and steer him towards the Batman(r) because “it’s for boys?” (FYI… Look at these pictures. Do they say “For boys 8-14” or “For Girls 6-12”?)
LegoPrincess

Why stifle your child’s creativity and expression?

Another absurd comment I heard was “If Target removes gender labeling from these toys, how can I find what I’m looking for?” Seriously, “Boys Building Sets” and “Girls Building Sets” are now “Building Sets”. What are you looking for? That Star Wars(r) set for your son? Can’t find it in “Building Sets”? Maybe there are deeper issues. Looking for a girl’s bike? Can’t find it because there’s no “Girl’s Bicycles” aisle? Maybe, and this is just me, but could it be on the “Bicycles” aisle? Or, are there just too many options that would be confusing? To borrow a quote from comedian Bill Engvall: “Here’s your sign”.

Now people, let’s try worrying about something real.

Ciao my lovelies,
Denise

No Comments

Be the first to start the conversation!

Leave a Reply

